Fear..

Imagine you are locked in a room with your greatest Fear.. What would you do? How could you sustain it?

As far as I am concerned, I freak out seeing huge tall statues.. If at all I am at a place where all such tall statues are accumulated then, I can consider that is the greatest fear for me of all the time..

I recollect my faintest memories of the fear I experienced seeing a huge Lord Shiva statue during a family trip to Bangalore. I think that was when I could make out that I had this ‘phobia of tall objects’!! I actually googled about it and got to know that I am not alone.. 😉 Its called as MEGALOPHOBIA!!

My dad assured me that it was fine and come forward to see the statue but then I couldn’t move a bit, I became tense, anxious and fearful , then he had to come out with me instead of going near to the statue..

Here’s a picture of the statue..

Kemp-Fort-Shiva-Statue

Many such experiences happened where I could not travel forward because of Megalophobia.. If at all I am supposed to go to a new city/place I google about that beforehand so that I can avoid my encounter with the huge statues..

Dinosaurs are in the list too which scare the hell out of me.. Though if they are just skeletons or dummies I imagine that they will be alive the moment I see them and gobble me up..!  I remember my visit to Chicago museum where the world’s first full structured dinosaur skeleton was assembled. I had to visit that dinosaur as it was in the alley. I had jitters!! But still I instilled courage and tried to manage taking a picture standing near its tail..

The dinosaur’s picture..

dino

In recent times when I visited Madam Tussauds museum in NewYork, the entrance of the museum had a huge KING-KONG and in order to enter the museum you should pass through the monstrous Gorilla.. It frightened me out but since I had the determination to visit the museum, I again overcame the fear and managed to enter. I just had a glance and moved on..!

KingKong picture…

madame_tussauds_king_kong_1

It may take some more years and lot more courage for me to overcome this Megalophobia and hopefully I will be less fearful thereafter…..!!

Author: sparkplug14

Amateur blogger, photographer, comic books nerd, artist. Connect with me to know more about me..!!

Leave a comment